African LanguagesArabic LanguagesChineseDutchFrenchGermanGreekHebrewIndian (Native American)IrishItalianJapaneseLatinPersianPortugueseRussianSlavicSpanishSwedishThaiVietnameseYiddish
African LanguagesArabic LanguagesFrenchGermanHebrewHereroItalianJapaneseLatinRussianSpanish
This is the "Home" page of the "Languages" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Last Updated: Jun 30, 2016 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page

Library Links

Here are a few links from the Leatherby Libraries website:

Search Google Scholar

It provides a simple way to search the web for scholarly literature: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles, pre-prints and post-prints of articles, reports and other “grey” literature, and materials in institutional repositories from academic publishers, professional societies, and more. Access Google Scholar from the Leatherby Libraries web site to ensure there are active links from your search results to Leatherby Libraries electronic journals.   

Find more about Google Scholar.


About This Guide

Welcome to the Languages LibGuide. This guide is a brief introduction to the services available at the Leatherby Libraries to help you find foreign languages related books, articles, reference sources, and more. The main tabs of this LibGuide are described as follows:  


There are several databases that are specifically focused toward languages and communication, but there are others as well.  Many of the databases contain full-text articles pertaining to languages from around the world.  Lexis-Nexis includes articles from non-English language periodicals.

Internet Guides

Find websites that have been selected to guide you in your research.  Included are several online dictionaries to African languages and dialects.

Reference Guides

Link to the Leatherby Libraries catalog  to browse through print and digital media organized by language and subject. A gentle reminder that periodicals, reference, and special collections/archives material may not be checked out of the library.

New Materials

Find new materials that are recently added to the Leatherby Libraries collection particular to foreign languages and world cultures.

Internet News

Read news from around the world on the internet.


Loading  Loading...